Alternative Route

In my last blog, I hinted at looking at the comparison between the team I started with on my FA Cup Quest – South Normanton Athletic – and the team I wanted to start with, Heanor Town.

Below is the route I would’ve taken had I started with my first choice team, Heanor. The reason I didn’t is due to my missus being out on the Friday night on which Heanor started their Cup run, leaving me on child duty. So I opted for South Normanton, whose game was on a Saturday afternoon.

It transpires that had I started with Heanor at Leicestershire-based side Hinckley on that Friday night, I would’ve eventually joined Lincoln City’s epic run to the Quarter Finals.

The Imps, who have since gained promotion back to the EFL, made cup headlines by beating 4 league teams on route to the Quarter Final, where they were defeated 5-0 by eventual winners Arsenal at the Emirates. With almost everyone in Lincoln crammed into a corner of the Emirates, I’d have struggled to get a ticket for that one!

Lincoln’s run started by beating Altrincham in the First Round Proper. Prior to that, my allegiance would have been with Matlock Town, until they were beaten by Altrincham.

Although I would’ve attended 17 games (one more than on my actual route), I would’ve only switched teams 5 times, largely due to Lincoln’s run, which saw them beat Altrincham, Oldham, Ipswich (after a replay), Brighton and, famously, Burnley away.

Here’s what I could’ve done…

Extra Preliminary Round
Friday, August 5, 2016
Hinckley AFC 1 – 1 Heanor Town 

Extra Preliminary Round Replay
Wednesday, August 10, 2016
Heanor Town 5 – 1 Hinckley AFC

Preliminary Round
Friday, August 19, 2016
Heanor Town 3 – 2 Long Eaton United 

First Qualifying Round
Saturday, September 3, 2016
Matlock Town 4 – 2 Heanor Town 

Second Qualifying Round
Saturday, September 17, 2016
Kidsgrove Athletic 1 – 2 Matlock Town 

Third Qualifying Round
Saturday, October 1, 2016
Matlock Town 1 – 1 Workington  

Third Qualifying Round Replay
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
Workington 1 – 3 Matlock Town 

Fourth Qualifying Round
Saturday, October 15, 2016
Altrincham 3 – 1 Matlock Town 

First Round Proper
Saturday, November 5, 2016
Lincoln City 2 – 1 Altrincham 

Second Round
Monday, December 5, 2016
Lincoln City 3 – 2 Oldham Athletic 

Third Round
Saturday, January 7, 2017
Ipswich Town 2 – 2 Lincoln City 

Third Round Replay
Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Lincoln City 1 – 0 Ipswich Town 

Fourth Round
Saturday, January 28, 2017
Lincoln City 3 – 1 Brighton 

Fifth Round
Saturday, February 18, 2017
Burnley 0 – 1 Lincoln City 

Quarter Final
Saturday, March 11, 2017
Arsenal 5 – 0 Lincoln City 

Semi-Final
Sunday, April 23, 2017
Arsenal 2 – 1 Manchester City 

Final
Saturday, May 27, 2017
Arsenal 2 – 1 Chelsea

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

